Friday, July 5, 2013

Review of the Daddy's Girls series by Chelsea Camaron

Bad Boy, Ryder Davenport comes into Dina Fowler's life in the middle of her own personal hell. Still coming to terms with the death of her parents, she pushes everyone away. When she trusts the wrong man, putting her in a bad relationship she felt she couldn’t escape, Ryder comes along. Enjoying his playboy ways, fast cars, motorcycles and a new woman in his bed nightly, Ryder had no thoughts of settling down. That is, until he sees the damage a man can do when he meets a very broken Dina. He changes in hopes of one day being enough for her. But, can she ever feel safe with a man again? Ryder has restored hundreds of classic cars, can he restore Dina’s heart?

My Review:

I absolutely fell in love with this story and the characters! I finished it in one sitting and started the next book right away. The characters were well developed, making them seem so real and easy to relate to. They each have a history of their own and face real life situations not college drama. Its interesting to hear the story from both Dina and Ryder's POV, getting both the male and female perspective. I love that Dina isn't your typical girly-girl. She's into cars and prefers talking shop with the guys and actually working on cars over anything else. Don't get me wrong though, she's a stunner and knows how to get dolled up when the occassion calls for it.

I love how, as the reader, you're in on a secret that nobody else in the story knows about. That secret being that both Dina & Ryder are head over heels in love with each other and neither one of them has any idea. So watching their relationship grow was so exciting and definitely frustrating at times due to lack of communication. Ms. Camaron has done an amazing job in showing Dina's transformation from a shy battered & broken girl to a strong confident woman. And Ryder is literally her knight in shining armor, coming to her defense every chance he gets! I really enjoyed this book and look forward to continuing the series.


Brayden and Maggie have been dating for four years. Maggie is ready and expecting an engagement ring. Brayden has a past full of weaknesses and mistakes he can’t seem to shake. As he slowly loses everything, he also loses Maggie. As his world unravels, can he find the strength to shake his inner demons? Does he have it in him to face the ghosts of his past? Can Maggie overcome his deceptions? Will they find a way to love and trust again?

*This book intended for adult audiences due to the language and sexual content.

My Review:

A great addition to the series! Maggie & Brayden seem to have the most stable unshakable relationship out of all the other couples, until you start to see some shady behavior towards the end of the 1st book. Honestly, I expected his big secret to be something else, so I definitely wasn't the least bit prepared for the truth. It's devastating nonetheless and all the lies and deceit are what draw you into the story. He's literally blindsided Maggie with all the secrets he's been hiding, leaving her a confused and utterly defeated mess. But before they can work out their problems together, they need to work on themselves individually. Even though Brayden has no real family support, he's surrounded by friends who love him and want to help any way they can. Ms. Camaron has created an awesome cast of characters who deal with real life situations, which I always find appealing. Her writing style is so easy to get into and before you know it you're on the very last page. I would definitely recommend this series and look forward to continuing with the next book!


High school sweethearts manage to make it through college into the working world still together and going strong.From the start of their relationship Jake has made very clear his apprehension to marriage. Kenna understood going into this nine years ago that with Jake there would never be a ring or white dress.

My Review:

This is by far my favorite book in the series! It's more emotionally charged than the others, and had me absolutely captivated from beginning to end. I love that Jake and Kenna have their own book b/c we don't know too much about them other than the brief mentionings in the previous two books. Their history together is much like that of your average everyday couple which makes them so real and relatable. My heart literally ached for Kenna, my eyes were watery the whole time I was reading. And I even felt bad for Jake as well, its not his fault he has reservations about the whole institution of marriage given his childhood experiences with his mother and aunt. He has no positive thoughts or memories as far as marriage is concerned, therefore he believes nothing good can possibly come out of it. This book really stresses the importance of communication, if they had only been open and honest with each other they could have avoided all the fighting and time spent apart.

What I love most about this series is that all of the characters play active parts in each book. They don't just have their story and then that's the last you hear from them, their stories continue in each book and you get to watch them grow. I really can't wait for the next book, Beyond Repair, b/c I have a feeling Harrison & Sophia's story is going to be awesome!


About the Author:

Chelsea Camaron has a love for old muscle cars and Harley Davidson motorcycles. She currently resides in Southern Louisiana with her husband and two children. She was born and raised in Coastal North Carolina and her heart is always Carolina day dreaming. Her love for reading has sparked a new love for writing with a few projects currently in the works.

Growing up turning wrenchs with her mechanic dad in his garage, she has joined her passion for cars and writing into her Daddy's Girls series.

I love hearing from my fans, feel free to email me at

No comments:

Post a Comment