Friday, February 14, 2014

Release Day Launch - Party Girl by Rachel Hollis



Landon Brinkley is making her dreams come true. After years of poring over glossy photos of celebrity parties in People and US Weekly, she’s landed her Holy Grail: an internship with the fabulous Selah Smith, event planner to the Hollywood elite. Moving from small town Texas to Los Angeles, Landon finds herself in a world in which spending a million dollars on an event – even for kids’ birthdays – is de rigueur. The thrill of working on A-list parties and celeb weddings is enough to get her through the 75-hour workweeks, the nightmare of a multi-day film festival, and abuse at the hands of a mercurial boss. But confronted with the seamy realities of the business, she is forced to make a choice: do whatever it takes to get ahead, or stay true to herself.

A roman a clef in the vein of The Devil Wears Prada, PARTY GIRL draws on the author’s real life experience for an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at the celebrity-obsessed world of event planning. From the party habits of America’s favorite underage singer to the worst Bridezilla of all (the kind that graces the cover of your favorite magazine), PARTY GIRL reveals the ugly side of Hollywood’s prettiest parties.





Purchase Links:






Party GirlParty Girl by Rachel Hollis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What an awesome debut novel from Rachel Hollis! I immediately fell in love with the synopsis and signed up to review this book for its Release Day Launch. It's such a wonderful feeling when the book you're excited about reading lives up to all your expectations! Ms. Hollis will grab your attention from the very beginning and keep you hooked right up to the end. And you will love each and every minute of it!

In Party Girl we're introduced to Landon Brinkley, a Texas native who has relocated to LA with the dream of making it big as an events planner. Armed with her mantra, "I am strong. I am smart. I am courageous.", her savings account and a teaching degree to fall back on she's ready to give it her all and make this change work.

Working for her idol Selah Smith of SSE (Selah Smith Events) is a dream come true, even if it is an unpaid internship. It's just the right amount of motivation she needs to keep her goals in perspective. However, Landon finds herself quickly changing in order to fit in and make her life easier. It's only temporary right? She's just gotta put in the time and gain the experience needed to start her own business. And failure is not an option. Although she quickly realizes Selah isn't the person she thought she was and that SSE is much more complicated and nerve-wracking than her previous events planning job, she sticks with it determined to impress her boss and make a name for herself.

I absolutely loved Landon with her big hair, love of all things pink & colorful, and Texas charm! She's by far one of the funnest characters I've come across in a while. She's living (or fictional) proof that you can take the girl out of Texas, but you can't take Texas out of the girl. I really admired that fact that she's so hardworking and determined. I was standing in her corner cheering her on from the very beginning because that's the kind of deep connection you're able to make with her. Landon's character is very real and easy to relate to.

Miko, or Jin as she's known in the workplace, is an absolute life saver! She takes Landon under her wing right off the bat because, unlike all of her other jaded co-workers, Miko remembers what it was like to start from the bottom. I loved her quirky personality and all of the book references! She proves herself to be an amazing friend every step of the way.

Max, Landon's roommate, is definitely unique. She hides behind a tough exterior but inside she's a softy. I kinda felt bad every time she revealed a new fact about herself that Landon didn't know because when asked why she never mentioned it before, her response would always be, "You didn't ask." There's much more to this girl than meets the eye. It takes a bit of digging and an unfortunate accident to get to the bottom of it, but it's well worth the wait because, like Miko, she's an amazing friend.

Throw in some hot guys, workplace drama, a drunken girls night out (or two), incredible fashion and an awesomely witty writing style and you've got yourself one hell of a fun read. If you loved The Devil Wears Prada and watch The Wedding Planner every chance you get…not that I do that or anything…then you will absolutely adore this book! You get a behind the scenes look at what really happens, or happened, at an events planning company. The writing is absolutely flawless and will have you laughing out loud at some points. I'm seriously impressed by the incredible attention to detail. Ms. Hollis literally paints a picture in your mind of each scene as it unfolds. I would highly recommend this book and can totally see myself rereading it time and time again!







About the Author:


Rachel Hollis is the founder of the popular lifestyle blog www.thechicsite.com and Los Angeles-based event planning firm, Chic Events. At 27, she was named by Inc. Magazine as one of the “Top 30 Entrepreneurs under 30.” She has designed and produced fabulous parties for many of Hollywood’s elite, including Bradley Cooper, Rashida Jones, Al Gore, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Ivanka Trump, Jamie King, and Cuba Gooding Jr. (just to name a few). Most recently, she planned the nuptials of actress Sara Rue’s wedding, which garnered national coverage in magazines such as People and US Weekly.

In 2010, Rachel appeared as the wedding planner on the WE Network show “Jilted?” This six-part relationship series followed potential brides as they gave their suitors ultimatums to see if they would get the wedding of their dreams or get “jilted.”

In addition, Rachel is a lifestyle expert for The Talk, EXTRA, The Nate Berkus Show, The Steve Harvey Show, KTLA Morning News, Fox 5, Better TV and a regular contributor on PopSugar TV and Celebrations.com. She has been featured in People, InStyle, OK! Weekly, Entertainment Weekly, Better Homes and Garden, Traditional Home, Entrepreneur, Grace Ormand and the TV shows “Jilted” and “I Do Over” for the WE Network, “The Traveler’s Guide to Life” on the Travel Channel” and “Self Made.”






a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 comments:

  1. Congrats on your new book!!!!!!! Had to search for Her page Its under her Name of her book!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Congrats on the new book and thank you for the awesome giveaway.

    ReplyDelete